Favourite Zelda Game?

• I'm not much of a BOTW fan, I proffer very story heavy and linear games because without an interesting story I get rather bored with most games, doesn't matter how good the gameplay is, if I'm not invested in the characters and story I ain't gonna be finishing it. It's just the way I am and always have been, which is why Skyward Sword is definitely my favourite Zelda game. The more consistent story focus, lovely art style, really good and prominent music with gameplay I was perfectly happy with, I didn't hate it like some people. It also had a really good atmosphere that was one of the parts I really liked about BOTW and past Zelda games. It also gave me the opportunity to actually like and care about Zelda which I have never done before in any Zelda game. Which gave a lot of the game a real impact which I really liked. So yeah, Skyward Sword is my favourite Zelda game, coming from a guy who's only played Ocarina, Twilight, Windwaker, BOTW, SS and a handful of the handheld ones so I'm not overly experienced in the series.

• I find Skyward Sword to be incredibly dissapointing. Not because I had high expectations when I played it, but because of the amount of good that's in it. The characters are great, the music is on point, the story is fairly decent and there's a good variety in gameplay. There are a ton of fun minigames, there's a vast array of items to choose from and although the rest of the world leaves a lot to be desired Skyloft is very nicely fleshed out. The combat is also a lot of fun, especially the Girahim battles.

It's really sad that all of this is brought down by the clunky motion controls and repetition. There isn't a single aspect in SS that doesn't return at least once, generally more. The Imprisoned battles are a good example of this, as well as the fact that you have to go through the Forest Temple again after already having completed it once before.